Ingham Veteran Golfers Open 2016


Ingham Veteran Golfers welcomed and played host to golfers from Veteran Golf Clubs of North Queensland and visitors from Victoria, NSW and the Northern Territory as well as from clubs in southern Queensland. The occasion was the 14th Annual Ingham Veterans Golf Open which was held from 18 to 20 July. In all a total of 81 players representing 28 clubs were welcomed to Ingham by Ingham Veterans Golf President Sue Cameron.

Unfortunately for all concerned the rain set in overnight on the Sunday and although the organisers delayed the starting time they were eventually forced to abandon play on Monday.  Tuesday morning appeared to be much clearer and sixty players ventured onto a wet course which soon became wetter when several heavy showers caught the field in action. However although there were a few retirements most soldiered on to complete the round. After this experience an early decision was made on Wednesday morning to abandon any further play.


Tuesday 19/07/16         Individual Stableford

Men: Winner: Grahame George (Charlestown – NSW) 40 points

Runner-Up: Bob Visentin (Hervey Bay) 37 points. (Countback)

Rundown: Jerry Pembroke (Black Springs) 37points

Ray Clegg (Nambour) 37 points

Alan Dwyer (Gordonvale) 35 points

Fred Smith (Ingham) 34 points

Ian Schofield (Cairns) 34 points

John Stimpson (Willows) 34 points

Aurelio Mason (Ingham) 34 points

Dennis Kent (Ingham) 32 points

Ladies:  Winner: Gloria Davis (Nowra)  29 points

Runner-Up: Lee Irvine (Ingham)  28 points. (Countback)

Rundown: Shirley Bullock (Burrum District) 28 points

Andrina Wilson (Cairns) 28 points

Bruna Quadrio (Ingham) 27 points

Edna Atkinson (Gordonvale) 27 points

Sandra England (Nowra) 26 points

As players were only able to complete one round the Championship was declared on Tuesday’s results.


Men: A Division: Gross Grahame George (Charlestown – NSW) 74

Nett  Jerry Pembroke (Black Springs) 71

B Division: Gross Bob Visentin (Hervey Bay)  95

Nett  Alan Dwyer (Gordonvale)  73

C Division: Gross Ray Clegg (Nambour)  95

Nett John Famularo (Cairns) 81

Women: A Division: Gross Sandra England (Nowra)  98

Nett Gloria Davis (Nowra)  81

B Division: Gross  Shirley Bullock (Burrum District)  102

Nett Bruna Quadrio (Ingham)  84

C Division: Gross Lee Irvine (Ingham)  107

Nett Edna Atkinson (Gordonvale)  82